Luce

My favorite San Antonio Italian place and my favorite Austin joint are both Enotecas, which must be a coincidence since I don’t drink wine.

Luce has these little wine “lockers”, so if you do drink wine you can save your favorites.  It also has beautiful iron vines with leaves along the outside of the building.  Inside, the walls are filled with bottles of wine.  It knows what an Enoteca is supposed to be.  I do not ruin the ambience when I order coffee, because the waiter brings it to me in a beautiful french press.  Luce is all about service.

Amuse bouche! I love presents.

The amuse bouche is fresh carrots and celery in oil and herbs and eggplant caponata.  Meals are served with housemade bread – thickly crusted, warm and slightly sweet.  It goes perfectly with the assortment of small butter and spread choices.

Not pictured is my caprese salad, because I ate it 😦

Mmmm gorgonzolaaaa

 

I love the gnocchi here…each peice is studded with bits of green (I have no idea if this is spinach or herbs or what, but it’s delicious) and has just the right texture.  Perfectly chewy and firm, these potato pasta bites are smothered in a creamy gorgonzola sauce.

Luce is also awesome because it focuses so much on great service.  Joseph (Joe), the owner, will go out of his way to make sure you have  great experience.  I’ve seen some amazing things at Luce.

Next up: Enoteca Vespaio in Austin!

Leave a Reply

